Palm Coast, Florida - Today, Mayor Milissa Holland announced the City of Palm Coast has joined Next Century Cities, a bipartisan, city-to-city initiative dedicated to ensuring the availability of next-generation broadband Internet for all communities.

"Palm Coast is dedicated to providing exceptional services to everyone who lives, works or plays here in order to improve their quality of life, grow the local economy and protect our beautiful natural environment through a planned, integrative approach using the best of available technology," Holland said.

In early 2004, the City of Palm Coast recognized utility systems require broadband connectivity to operate economically and reliably. Later that year the Mayor and City Council approved the construction of a high-speed fiber-optic backbone to connect all City site and facilities The city's current fiber assets include 60 route miles of conduit and 54 miles of high-count fiber cable As of October 2018 the city had a total of 124 connections most of which are at public facilities including schools and traffic signal cabinets. The City of Palm Coast is currently seeking a P3 Partnership to advance its Smart-City initiatives and build a fiber-to-premises infrastructure and provide high-speed Internet connectivity for businesses and residences.

"Next Century Cities welcomes the City of Palm Coast, Florida, the latest community to join us in support of high-speed Internet" said Deb Socia, Executive Director of Next Century Cities. "We encourage all cities who are interested in recognizing the benefits of these investments to business, schools, government, and more to join this initiative."

To date, 204 cities and their elected leaders have joined Next Century Cities in recognition of the importance of leveraging gigabit-level Internet to attract new businesses and create jobs, improve health care and education, and connect residents to new opportunities. Next Century Cities will support communities and their elected leaders across the country as they seek to ensure that all have access to fast, affordable, and reliable Internet.


Next Century Cities member cities include: Albany (NY), Albuquerque (NM), Alexandria (VA),  Alford (MA), Amesbury (MA), Ammon (ID), Arlington (TX), Arlington (WA), Arlington County (VA), Arvada (CO), Ashland (OR), Atlanta (GA), Auburn (IN), Austin (TX), Baltimore (MD), Bedford (NH), Belfast (ME), Benicia (CA), Berkeley (CA), Beverly Hills (CA), Bexley (OH) Biloxi (MS), Bloomington (IN), Boise (ID), Boston (MA) Boulder (CO), Breckenridge (CO), Bryan (TX), Burbank (CA), Burlington (WA), Carbondale (IL), Carl Junction (MO), Cedar Falls (IA), Centennial (CO), Centerville (UT), Champaign (IL), Chapel Hill (NC), Charlotte (NC), Chattanooga (TN), Chesterton (IN), Chewelah (WA), Chicopee (MA), Chula Vista (CA), Clarksville (TN), College Station (TX), Columbus (OH), Condon (OR), Cornwall (CT), Cortez (CO), Culver City (CO), Dahlonega (GA), Davidson (NC), De Soto (KS), Duluth (MN), East Hartford (CT), Egremont (MA), Emmett (ID), Erie (PA), Eugene (OR), Fairburn (GA), Fairhope (AL), Fairlawn (OH), Fayetteville (AK), Fort Collins (CO), Fresno (CA), Gainesville (FL), Gainesville (TX), Garden Grove (CA), Grand Junction, (CO), Grandview (MO), Granville (OH), Gresham (OR), Gulfport (MS), Hagerstown (MD), Hanover (NH), Hartford (CT), Hays (KS), Hendersonville (TN), Highland (IL), Honolulu (HI), Hudson (OH), Huntington Beach (CA), Independence (OR), Islesboro (ME), Jackson (TN), Jacksonville (IL), Kansas City (KS), Kansas City (MO), Keene (NH), Kenmore (WA), Lafayette (LA), Lakeland (FL), Lancaster (PA), Larimer County (CO), Lawrence (KS), Lake Oswego (OR), Layton City (UT), LeRoy (MN), Letcher County (KY), Lewiston (ME), Lincoln (NE), Leverett (MA), Lexington (KY), Longmont (CO), Los Angeles (CA), Louisville (KY), Lowell (MA), Madison (WI), Marina (CA), Martin County (FL), Medina County (OH), Mendocino County (CA), Mena (AR), Menifee (CA), Mesa (AZ), Miami-Dade (FL), Middletown (RI), Missoula (MT), Montgomery County (MD), Monticello (MN), Montrose (CO), Morehead (KY), Morristown (TN), Mountain Village (CO), Mount Vernon (WA), Murray City (UT), New Bedford (MA), New Haven (CT), New Shoreham (RI), Northampton (MA), Oakland (CA), Opelika (AL), Orem (UT), Ottumwa (IA), Palm Coast (FL), Palo Alto (CA), Pasco County (FL), Payson (AZ), Penobscot (ME), Pikeville (KY), Pittsburgh (PA), Ponca City (OK), Portland (OR), Prestonsburg (KY), Provo (UT), Raleigh (NC), Rancho Cucamonga (CA), Richmond (CA), Richmond (KY), River Falls (WI), Riverside (CA), Riverside County (CA), Roanoke (VA), Rockport (ME), Rome (GA), Salem (VA), Salisbury (NC), Sallisaw (OK), San Antonio (TX), San Francisco (CA), San Jose (CA), San Leandro (CA), Sandy (OR), Sanford (ME), Santa Cruz County (CA), Santa Monica (CA), Saratoga Springs (NY), Scarborough, (ME), Schenectady (NY), Seattle (WA), Sebewaing (MI), Shaker Heights (OH), Sonoma County (CA), Socorro (NM), South Portland (ME), South San Francisco (CA), Spanish Fork (UT), Spring Hill (KS) Stamford (CT), Starkville (MS), Syracuse (NY), Thompson's Station (TN), Tucson (AZ), Tullahoma (TN), Urbana (IL), Vallejo (CA), Vancouver (WA), Ventura (CA), Virginia Beach (VA), West Hartford (CT), West Hollywood (CA), Westminster (MD), Wilson (NC), Wilton Manors (FL), Windom (MN), Winters (CA), Winthrop (MN), Yellow Springs (OH), and Zanesville (OH).